Bigoli al Nero

Il Grano

Il Grano
11363 Santa Monica Blvd,
Los Angeles, CA 90025
(310) 477-7886

http://www.ilgrano.com

We decided to come to Il Grano after searching for the best uni pastas in Los Angeles. Since Il Grano popped up and it was located nearby, we decided to give it a try. Major mistake. I have rarely written any posts where I criticize almost everything about the restaurant but my experience at Il Grano was beyond bad. Let me plunge straight into the “Not So Happy List.”

Not So Happy List

Crudo:  Our crude of the day included one oyster and a few slices of sashimi. None of them were too fantastic and the plating wasn't too appealing.

Crudo:
Our crude of the day included one oyster and a few slices of sashimi. None of them were too fantastic and the plating wasn’t too appealing.

Caprese: It's slightly biased that I'm including the Caprese Salad on the Not So Happy List because of the bad experience I had at Il Grano. However, I have to point out that it's hard to make Caprese taste bad. This is why it all comes down to plating and the colors of the food. Though there were a variety of heirloom tomatoes on the plate, I have to say it looked more like a mess than a plate of carefully placed vegetable and mozzarella cheese.

Caprese:
It’s slightly biased that I’m including the Caprese Salad on the Not So Happy List because of the bad experience I had at Il Grano. However, I have to point out that it’s hard to make Caprese taste bad. This is why it all comes down to plating and the colors of the food. Though there were a variety of heirloom tomatoes on the plate, I have to say it looked more like a mess than a plate of carefully placed vegetable and mozzarella cheese.

Bigoli al Nero: This was by far the worst disappointment of the night. Since Il Grano ranked as one of the best restaurants with uni pasta, I had high hopes for the dish. The pasta could have used a few more seconds on the stove as well as a extra drizzle of sauce. I felt as if everything about this pasta could use a little more of everything. Il Grano could definitely add a little more uni to the dish as well.

Bigoli al Nero:
This was by far the worst disappointment of the night. Since Il Grano ranked as one of the best restaurants with uni pasta, I had high hopes for the dish. The pasta could have used a few more seconds on the stove as well as a extra drizzle of sauce. I felt as if everything about this pasta could use a little more of everything. Il Grano could definitely add a little more uni to the dish as well.

Caramelle: Again, this dish is slightly biased. It did not taste all that bad but then of course, I'm being harsh on this restaurant because of the bad impression and bad experience I have had so far. The "candy-wrap" style ravioli could use a few more seconds in the pot so the sides of the ravioli would not be as hard and dry. I'm personally a big fan of pasta al-dente so it means something it definitely says something if I think pasta is undercooked.

Caramelle:
Again, this dish is slightly biased. It did not taste all that bad but then of course, I’m being harsh on this restaurant because of the bad impression and bad experience I have had so far. The “candy-wrap” style ravioli could use a few more seconds in the pot so the sides of the ravioli would not be as hard and dry. I’m personally a big fan of pasta al-dente so it means something it means something if I think pasta is undercooked.

I would avoid revisiting Il Grano for the time being because of the disappointments I experienced while dining at the restaurant.

I definitely had better Italian food in Los Angeles. If you’re really craving for uni pasta, I’d say Osteria Mozza served better ones than Il Grano did.

Happy eating,
Joey Wong ♥

One thought on “Il Grano

  1. I agree….very hard to mess up Caprese. Very hard. That kind of looks like egg yolks, quail egg yolks to be precise on that plate.

    As for the dry pasta…ouch. Many people don’t realize pasta can be cooked wrong. I am not sure if undercooked or overcooked is worse.

    Happy new years from http://www.vittledeedee.com

Leave a Reply

